Home / ebmt2012 / Abstracts, Poster and Speakers, Award and Pri... / Abstract awards and prizes

The EBMT is pleased to offer a growing number of awards and prizes for abstracts submitted for Oral and Poster presentation at the EBMT annual congress.

EBMT Physicians Group Awards and Prizes:

Van Bekkum Award
Opening Session
18:45 - 20.15
Sunday 1 April 2012

The Van Bekkum Award is the most prestigious EBMT award for the best abstract submitted to the physician's programme and is selected by the EBMT Board. The winning abstract will be presented as at the Opening Session on Sunday, April 1st 2012. The Award of 3.000€ is supported by the EBMT.

Basic Science Award
Presidential Symposium
09:30 - 11:00
Monday 2 April 2012

This award will be presented to the best Basic Science Abstract submitted under any relevant topic.
The aim of this award is to increase the level of basic science at the meeting and particularly young investigators are encouraged to submit their work. The prize winning abstract will be selected from the top-scoring abstracts by a Scientific Committee headed by the Chairs of the EBMT Developmental Committee.

Authors submitting a basic science abstract are invited to tick the respective box in the online submission, thus indicating the wish to be considered for the Basic Science Award.

The prize-winning abstract will be presented as part of the Presidential Symposium on Monday, 2 April 2012. This year’s prize of € 2’000 is generously supported by Genzyme.

Jian-Jian Luan Award for Lymphoma Transplant Research
Lymphoma Working Party Session
16:00 – 17:30
Tuesday, April 3, 2012

This award is for the commemoration of Jian-Jian Luan who worked as study coordinator for the EBMT Lymphoma Working Party and who tragically died due to an alpine hiking accident. The award will be presented to the best abstract submitted under the topic lymphoma.

The aim of the award is to encourage research in order to improve the results of lymphoma treatment by transplantation strategies. Both experimental and clinical work is eligible. All authors submitting a lymphoma abstract will be automatically considered for the Jian-Jian Luan Award. LWP studies or studies by LWP subcommittee chairs as well as published material will not be considered.

The price-winning abstract will be selected from the top-scoring abstracts submitted under the topic “Lymphoma” by a scientific committee headed by the Chairperson of the LWP. It will be awarded with 1000 € donated by the EBMT Lymphoma Working Party and presented orally at the LWP session on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2012.

Nature Publishing Poster Awards
General Assembly Meeting
07:30 - 08:30
Wednesday 4 April 2012

Two prizes for the best physician poster presentations (best clinical and best science poster) are sponsored by Nature Publishing Group. The awards will be announced at the General Assembly Meeting on Wednesday, April 4th 2012. Each prize is worth £1000

Jon van Rood Award
Immunobiology Working Party Session


Monday 2 April 2012


This prestigious award is given for outstanding contributions in the field of of hematopoietic transplantation immunology, immunogenetics, tolerance and graft-vs-leukaemia/tumour effects.

The fourth edition of this award is organised by Prof Hans-Jochem Kolb (Munich, Germany) and the selection is carried out by a distinguished International panel under the supervision of Prof J.J. van Rood himself. Papers published or accepted for publication were evaluated for the 2012 award and the panel was made-up of the following experts: D. Charron, H. Einsele, F. Falkenburg, H.J. Kolb, A. Madrigal and A. Velardi.


We are delighted to announce that the following paper has been selected for the 2012 Award:

Azacitidine augments expansion of regulatory T-cells after allogeneic stem cell transplantation in patients with acute myeloid leukaemia

O.C. Goodyear (Birmingham, UK) 



The award is generously supported by Fresenius Biotech GmbH with an unrestricted educational grant of 10,000€. We are very grateful to the sponsor for committing to support the award for a period of five years from 2010 - 2014.


EBMT Nurses Group Awards and Prizes:

The Nurses Group is pleased to announce that the best oral presentation and the best poster will awared.

The Nurses Best Oral prize is sponsored by EUSA Pharma.

The Nurses Best Poster prize is sponsored by CaridianBCT.